Navidad en Sevilla

I’m currently in Seville for the holidays. From the 26th – 29th I’ll be in Granada, this will my first time going, then I’ll be back in Seville until midnight on the 8th. This vacation was just what I needed, and Seville was definitely the perfect place for me to go. I needed to get away from Madrid and my health is better for it, even just to see the sun much more often and have access to fresh air. Since I used to live here and still have friends here, I’m able to actually relax on this vacation instead of feeling pressured to constantly be on the go. Furthermore, since I’m staying in a place on airbnb, I’m able to cook my meals as I’d like, so I can save that much more money.

On Sunday I went to the church I attended while here.  It was great to see them and they were happy to see me, it was nice.  Yesterday I hung out with a good friend of mine and tonight I’m having dinner with his family. Christmas Eve is a bigger deal than Christmas Day in Spain and in the Spanish-speaking world in general from what I’ve gathered, so I hope the dinner is pretty good. Regardless, it should be nice, and definitely better than what I was planning on doing tonight.

Last Thursday, we had our Christmas concerts at the school. In the morning, the infantil students (preschool, ages 3 – 5) had their concert, of which I saw about half, and in the afternoon the primaria students performed (elementary school, 1st – 6th grade). They performed songs in English and Spanish, and the 6th graders also did a skit in English (Peter Pan), and a poem in Spanish.

All of the first graders performed together, I work with them (as well as the 3rd and 4th graders). The English song and dance they did was a version of “Do Re Mi” from the Sound of Music, the “flash mob” version (song was the same, dance was slightly different). Personally I thought 6 minutes was a bit long for a song for 6-year-olds, but they did a good job.

The Spanish song they sang was “Hi hei ho ho ho” from Los Pitufos, which is The Smurfs in Spanish. Reading the YouTube comments this is a really old song, and a nice bit of nostalgia for the people who commented. Also, the Spanish in general seem to really like The Smurfs for some reason, there’s some Smurf amusement park here.

One of the 3rd grade classes performed a rock version of “Hoy es Navidad,” which is to the melody of Jingle Bells. I couldn’t find a rock version on YouTube, sadly, so here is the typical version. 

The other 3rd grade class sang the Justin Bieber version of “Santa Claus is Coming to Town.” If you really want to hear Bieber sing, feel free to google it lol.

Some class sang this song, honestly not sure who since I don’t have a program of the concert with me. “Campana sobre campana”

Another class sang this, “Navidad rock,” which is “Jingle Bell Rock”

Enjoy the holidays everyone, que tengáis unas fiestas felices!

~ by Revé on December 24, 2013.

2 Responses to “Navidad en Sevilla”

  1. Merry Christmas! Have fun in Andalucía. I love Granada. Hope you enjoy your visit.

  2. YES, I would have been pulling my hair out, while they were torturing me singing Justin Bieber’s song! lol Just in case I don’t sign on, and tell you tomorrow; HAVE A VERY MERRY CHRISTMAS … and I am happy that you get to enjoy some happiness, and fellowship, at this very special time of the year! Have fun! ~~BLESSINGS!~~ ♥

Leave a Reply

 
