Well, I suppose it was just a matter of time…

So…on Saturday my purse got stolen.  

Thanks to my upbringing, previous time spent abroad, and eternal cynicism, I knew not to have my passport on me and I only carry one U.S. credit/bank card and my Spanish bank card at any given time.  And no more than 20 euros more than what I think I’ll need to spend in cash. Not losing my passport was an especially good thing because my TIE appointment is tomorrow (to apply for my foreigner ID card).  So that’s good.  But my phone, iPod, keys, health insurance card, etc. are gone.  By the grace of God, I had backed up my main flashdrive earlier that afternoon.  17 GB of info, much of which would have been irretrievable.

When I mention this to people, expats and Spaniards alike:

“That happened to me a few months ago.” 

“I had my wallet stolen earlier this year, I kept everything in there.”

“My friend’s wallet was stolen just yesterday on the metro.”

“I was right outside my apartment building and my phone was snatched right out of my hand.”

“My friend’s purse was stolen and they went to her house and robbed her.”

“My housemate was robbed at knifepoint.  He had just been paid, his boss insists on paying him in cash.” (Honestly, this sounded like an inside job to me, idk)

“His phone was stolen, it was in the inside pocket of his coat.”

“Pick-pocketing is an art form here.”

♪♪  You are not alonnnnnne.  ♪♪

Considering that I’m almost 30 (ugh), have spent most of my life in the Chicagoland area, and this is the first time I’ve ever been a direct victim of a crime, I guess I’m not doing too bad.  I definitely have my parents to thank for that.

 

~ by Revé on November 21, 2013.

3 Responses to “Well, I suppose it was just a matter of time…”

  1. Well, I’m glad that you weren’t harmed! You take care of yourself! God, obviously, is watching over you, also. Those are material things; they can be replaced. You can’t!

    P.S. When Keisha was over in South America; she was a victim of a crime, also. They stole this new 35 millimeter camera, that I had bought for her, when she graduated from College. I still say it was that dude that kept telling herself that he was watching her backpack, that she had on her back! And, yes, I had taught them to never have things on their back, arm, etc., when riding a bus, train, etc. … to hug, and have them in front of them. But, you know haow you young people know everything. 😉 But, to be serious, keep safe!

    Mrs. Lambert

  2. Yep, you definitely are not alone. I’m really sorry about your lost items but at least they didn’t get everything and you’re okay. 🙂
    I also had my purse “stolen” my first or second day in Madrid. Maybe they were amateurs but I was able to snatch my purse back before they got to far away. I was talking to my dad on a pay phone and dropped the receiver to go after them as they slowly walked away.

Leave a Reply

 
