[very] long time, no post…

Every so often I contemplate updating this blog.  Once I actually did write something several months ago, but I had updated the “quick post” page (which apparently doesn’t automatically save) and WordPress managed to erase my entry.  And frankly, after certain events that happened in my life around that time, that entry would have essentially been a moot point anyway.

But yeah, for those who know I’ve had an…interesting 18ish months since I’ve been back in Chicago.  If I wrote about some of it here, not only would you probably not believe me, but if people associated with a certain high-profile celebrity — who played a pretty substantial role in this drama —  were to stumble upon it, I could get sued.  

Like I said, you probably wouldn’t believe me. I’ve been encouraged to write about it eventually though

Anyway, in the midst of all these chaotic events, I found an opportunity and several resources to give me a chance to move back to Spain.  

Image

Years ago, I contemplated doing the Auxiliares de Conversación program instead of enrolling at CLIC Sevilla language immersion in order to live in Spain and learn Spanish.  Now I’m looking at this same program, but as a way to live, work, and start to make a life for myself in Spain.  

I haven’t said much about it to most people in my life, in part because it’s not 100% set in stone, but largely because the internet/Facebook has played a role in enough drama in my life that I just don’t want to deal with it (I’ve told people I’m more-or-less on a FB Sabbatical).  I’ve been using FB and resources online to make this move as feasible, painless, and inexpensive as possible.   Many of these resources weren’t available when I first considered doing this program, as they hadn’t been written yet, so in a way it’s been very beneficial for me to consider this program for the 2013 – 14 academic year and not sooner.

Anyway, in short, this is one of the biggest reasons I’m trying to do this program…basically why I’m trying to move back to Spain, and why I’ve been exerting a lot of energy and research into trying to make it work despite certain stressors.

Image

 

I’ve written a bit about this on my Go Fund Me page

Next time I update, I hope to have news to share that is a bit more concrete.

Hasta la prómixa.

 

 

 

~ by Revé on August 19, 2013.

3 Responses to “[very] long time, no post…”

  1. Wow, I hope you write about your experience at some point. I’m intrigued.
    Good luck getting back to Spain. Not sure if you would be interested since like you said there are lots of resources now but I have a Linkedin group for alumni. Some of members are current assistants, so they may have more up to date information on how things are.

    • If I ever get around to writing that book I’ll let you know, heh.

      I’d appreciate a link to that group, or to any other resources you may have. I’m mainly utilizing different blogs, facebook groups, and discount travel companies (e.g. AirBnb, SkyScanner, STA, etc)

Leave a Reply

 
