No time for a substantial update…

…so I’m trying to figure out if this is better than nothing. I could have easily made the past few days into a few posts if I had time.

I’ve made some friends. With the exception of my friend from San Francisco, who I haven’t hung out with yet, I’m the only native English speaker (my German flatmate is also a friend of mine). It’s interesting, like they’ll ask me about certain words and it makes me wonder how challenging/feasible it is to really build a vocabulary in a foreign language. The answers to some of the what’s-this-word questions I’ve been asked recently are “clumsy,” “shallow,” and “flotation device.”

I went on a date with a Sevillian yesterday. That’s all I’m going to say about that in a blog as public as this at the moment.

Today I went to Jerez de la Frontera and a nearby beach with the program, and the aforementioned friends were there. Jerez = Sherry and that’s what they’re know for. We tried both a dry and sweet sherry and had a tour of the bodega. I’ll try to post pictures when I have more time.

The beach was nice and fun, Playa de Valdelagrana in the Puerto de Santa Maria. Apparently, in Spain they make bikinis in all sizes. I was at first concerned about not being quite the size I want to be in my bikini but shoot, if these women feel comfortable enough to wear bikinis then I should have the utmost of confidence.

It’s about 11:30pm here. I went out the past two nights, and was out all day today, so I’m resting tonight. I think my flatmate went to bed like an hour and a half ago. Smart girl. I want to go to church tomorrow so I might follow suit.

~ by Revé on September 10, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
