Few things

Someone commented to me that she’d like to see the area I live in. I was already thinking about talking some pictures of my walk to school to show you all the area, so I did that this morning. I tried to be inconspicuous since being a Black woman I get attention for…you know, existing, but I think I did an okay job. Right when I got to my classroom, my camera said “Battery Exhausted” so it’s charging now. If I have time tonight I might post them.

So far my flatmates and I get along well.

The Scot: He was the person I talked to the most the first day here. It tickled me because he was in the kitchen (I live right across from it) and he commented that there’s no kettle, and I thought to myself, Of course the Brit would be more upset about not having tea than not having an oven, heh. He’s cool. I’m not sure how long he’s going to be here.

The German: I talked to her a bit yesterday. I went to the movie and tour that our school organized and she did as well, so I talked to her then. She’s also friends with a girl I ran into when I went to church, so I talked to her a little too. I kind of somewhat have another German acquaintance through her. There’s tons of Germans here. She’s very nice. She saw me out eating lunch today so we talked a little then too. She’ll be staying for 4 weeks and she started this program when I did.

Other people that I know of in this building: There’s a studio upstairs where a girl lives. I talked to her briefly last week and saw her quickly yesterday when I was running back to the floor to get my jacket. I’m tempted to knock on her door or leave her a note to say hi, but so far I’ve barely been here. I don’t have (nor want) any plans tonight so I might go up then.
At least one girl lives on the floor with my host. I haven’t gotten to really see her.

The temperature tends to be in the upper 60s when I leave for class and in the mid – upper 90s for most of the day. It’s not very humid (strange since a river goes through the city), so while I don’t like the heat because I have to walk outside a lot, it’s not as bad as it seems. If it were this hot in Chicago I’d try to avoid being outside, much less 1 – 2 hours a day at least.

Class is going okay. Yesterday one of the teachers (the one who called me “the interpreter”) asked the student next to me if she could completely understand me when I speak Spanish and she said not entirely. Most likely it’s because of how quickly I speak or my vocabulary I guess.

Like I mentioned briefly, yesterday I went to the movie shown at school and a tour of some type of the area. The movie was El hijo de la novia, an Argentinian film. It had subtitles, thank God because I’ve always felt like Argentinians are quite hard to understand. Good movie though.

The tour was nice. It took about an hour and 45 minutes, started in the Puerta de Jerez and ended at the Museo Arqueológico de Sevilla. A is where I started, B is where I ended up, C was where I was going to meet my sister, and I told the tour guide I’m like a blindwoman when I need to find new places so I need clear directions to get back.


I didn’t get lost. From a distance I saw the Golden Arches of the McDonald’s in town after walking about 15 – 20 minutes so I knew where I was. Took me about 45 minutes to meet up with my sister since my feet were so tired by that point.

Today I went back to the supermarket. I was lucky enough to get in before it closed at 3 for siesta, about 20 – 30 minutes before it closed (most stores close at 2-something). We have no paper towels, so I wanted some, plus I was unsure of how much toilet paper we had so I got some of that too (we ended up having plenty, but better too much than too little). I found some baby wipes, and as hot as it is I wanted to buy some to wipe my body down between showers.

I also got some more milk and bananas. In the grocery stores I frequent in the Chicagoland area, the cashier weighs/prices produce for you. Here you have to do it, which I didn’t realize until I got to the cashier. It wasn’t the hardest thing once I figured out how the pricing machine works. I’ve spent 30ish euros at the grocery store so far this week. I’m aiming for hopefully no more than about 140/month (like $200ish).

~ by Revé on September 7, 2011.

3 Responses to “Few things”

  1. I really like your description, of your walks. Keisha had expressed the same, about her experience, as being, a rare sight, a Black woman, there. Has anyone approached you, yet; asking to touch your skin? That’s was what Keisha, stated, that she had been experiencing, a lot … lol! I guess they believed that the color would rub off! lol

    • That would utterly horrify me, not gonna lie. I’d probably blurt out, “What am I, a dog?” Right now people just stare intently sometimes, especially since I live in Triana so seeing a Black woman (and one who is not African) is especially rare because it’s not really a touristy place.

  2. I so enjoy reading and knowing you are doing ok.
    thanks for staying linked
    shirley p your ancc family member here in chicago

Leave a Reply

 
