No hay horno para nada; running errands

My host was just on the floor so I asked her is there an oven in the building that I could use. She said no, she doesn’t have an oven either. I told her that my sister’s host told me that kitchens aren’t important for Spaniards, but for Americans, particularly women, they’re pretty much the most important part of the house. She’s like, why, you just cook there, and she does have a point lol. I told her it’s fine because I can probably go to my sister’s flat every so often and use the oven there. Nieves will be happy to see me lol.

Today I went to El Corte Inglés, the main department store in town. It’s like a Macy’s/Crate and Barrel/furniture store/etc. There’s like 5 locations nearby and they all sell different things. I went to look at the toaster ovens (to get a price, I’ve since decided to visit my sister when I need to cook and I totally almost just typed that in Spanish lol). I also need a pitcher. My water filter pitcher broke, but the filter part still works so I wanted to just get a new jug. I found one, and it was kind of beat up so I just KNEW that was the floor model but this is Spain, don’t assume. I told her I would like that one, but a new one and she said what was on the floor was all they had, so I need to go elsewhere.

Today I also went grocery shopping. To be honest, I was absolutely dreading my first trip to the supermarket. You wouldn’t believe just how many foods there are and the different names the Spanish have for them until you go to a restaurant/supermarket. The main thing I have trouble with is meat/seafood. Not only are there so many cuts of meat and types of fish, especially since we’re located on the water, but like I mentioned the Spanish have different names for things. For example, I thought that camerones were shrimp, but at the supermarket they look nothing like shrimp; gambas look more like what I’d call shrimp.

I went to MÁS supermarket. Closer to my house is Lidl, which I’m like 95% positive is the Spanish Aldi’s down to the fact that that chain is owned by Germans and you have to essentially pay to use the shopping carts. I decided that I should at least start out with better quality items and if I want go to Lidl later I will.

Before coming to Seville, I was told that Sevillans don’t refrigerate their milk at supermarkets. I wanted to ask why, and I was grateful that I was warned so I wouldn’t react poorly at the store, but I figured I’d find out why eventually. How it works is it’s in a rectangular 1-liter carton, like most non-alcoholic beverages save for pop (although I did buy some sangria in a 1-L box-carton today). You refrigerate it once you open it and then you consume it within 3 – 4 days. Mine’s in the refrigerator now as I’m not drinking room temperature milk. But yeah, it’s Sevillian/Spanish, we adjust.

On a similar note, I was struggling to find the eggs. I realized that since juice, milk, no beverages are refrigerated, it’d be silly to expect the eggs to be and sure enough they were towards the middle of the store on a wooden shelf. Meats and cheese are indeed refrigerated, in case anyone was curious. I think they’re the only refrigerated items save for stuff like ice cream.

I bought a couple bags worth of essentials (including some chocolate stuff….essentials, you know) and I brought my own bags because you have to pay for bags here. On the way home, I realized I wasn’t sure how strong these bags were so I held my stuff differently. I was hoping that they wouldn’t break before I got home lest I lose my mind in the streets of this borough.

But now I have groceries.

~ by Revé on September 5, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
