No me puedo dormir

It’s almost 4am here. I haven’t gotten a good night’s sleep since we left Chicago.

I imagine it’s a factor of:
-My days having more activity than usual. I’ve been busy all day everyday since coming here.
-My days having more activity *at night*. At home, the vast majority of the time I was back at home by 9pm or so at the latest. I had a *bare minimum* of 3 – 4 hours to unwind before hitting the sheets. Here’s the earliest is like 11pm. Restaurants don’t even open at night until 8 – 8:30pm
-Adjusting to the time zone change.

To try to combat this, I:
-Listened to music (as always)
-Took a sleeping pill.
-Took 2 sleeping pills.
-Drank some liquor.
-Drank a higher amount of liquor.
-Tried to go to bed “early” to try to counteract the fact that it takes me 2 – 3 hours to fall asleep (like I mentioned, the earliest I can handle right now is like 11:30pm because I get home so late)

I haven’t yet tried NyQuil because:
-I only brought 2 bottles with me and didn’t want to have to use so much so quickly.

I imagine I will adjust. Also, right now I have to eat late because I can’t prepare my own food. Once I get to my flat, I’ll be able to cook for myself and not have to eat so late if I don’t want to. I also won’t be with my family so I could eat sooner if I did want to go to a restaurant.

Tomorrow my family wants to go to church, naturally, so I have somewhere to be in the morning. Normally my parents and I don’t really start our day until after 11 – 12pm or so, and even then we have nowhere we need to go. We’ll be leaving in like 6ish hours. Whenever I fall asleep here, I fall asleep hard and don’t get out of bed for a while. Since I have somewhere to be in the morning and can’t just wake up whenever, I might just put the TV on in the background, lay down, and wait it out.

~ by Revé on September 4, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
