A few thoughts

I’ve gotten some feedback on my letter from native speakers. My mistakes tended to be minor, such as saying “objectivo” instead of “objetivo.” When my mistakes are things like that (which is the case more often than not when I write), I’m torn between feeling like, Oh, some minor mistakes, not bad for someone whose formal education in Spanish is so limited, and, THOSE were my mistakes?! SERIOUSLY? lol. But I guess I’d rather have mistakes such as slight orthographical errors than accidentally say, “My Spanish speaking abilities are pretty well” or something like that.

My host just responded (seriously, as I was updating this lol)! I’m happy about that. She commented, “escribes muy bién el castellano y creo que tienes razón……lo hablaras mejor.” Glad to know she has faith in me.

Yesterday I exchanged $450.99 for 300 euros. I died a little inside, especially because we were able to exchange our money without additional fees from my parents’ bank (the internet quoted an exchange rate of $433 for 300 euros). Because of the fees that the bank [here in America] incurs to exchange the money, I wonder if the exchange rate would have been closer to the 1.44 quoted online if I had just went to a Spanish ATM upon arriving in Spain.

Those of you who’ve read my “About me” (or have read the comments I’ve left for you/others on this matter), you may know that my eventual goal with my language and living abroad plans is to hopefully be a multilingual translator/interpreter after attending grad school in Spain (I also have a pipe dream of opening a language immersion preschool, but we’ll see how my career/finances are going in 10+ years lol). I’m content with my goal, but the path to get there is uncertain.

Anyway, yesterday I was job searching in a “Maybe I should look up this company when I get back from Spain” way and I googled “[name of non-profit] jobs chicago.” I went to their job page and they have an ongoing need for freelance medical interpreters, and also provide a medical interpreting certificate program for those interested in applying for the position and don’t have a certificate already.

Now, the goal is not to medically interpret forever. Honestly, the goal is not even to get a job at all with this certificate. If I could pass their language assessment once I get back from Spain, get accepted to the program and complete it, I could put the certificate on a resume/CV/grad school application. My main goals for getting the certificate are to: 1) see if my Spanish comprehension has progressed enough to pass the language assessment in the first place, 2) get a taste of how T&I training/education is like, and 3) have some related education (and possibly experience) on my application once I’m ready to apply to grad school. If I can actually get a job doing this to some extent, and essentially save up for for my language programs and T&I grad school by being a legit interpreter, then that’s a bonus.

~ by Revé on August 24, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
