advice and warnings

On the Dave’s ESL Cafe website, there are several active forums that I found to be helpful.

There were some warnings about Bridge Linguatec. This made me chuckle: “I met some teachers at a party once who were working for Bridge-Linguatec and they told me that they made 3,500 pesos per hour….keep in mind that you will teach at the most 5 billable hours in a day. You might be better off bringing a guitar and singing Beattles tunes outside of the Tobalaba Metro before working for 3,500/hr.” Other people say it is a decent way to get experience, though.

I still think that ideally, I’d want to work with children, and not teach Business English to adults. It *seems* like a schedule I’d like better (especially since I most likely won’t have any particularly late classes) assuming that one school gave me enough hours, or that I only had to be at one or two schools in a given day.

We’ll see.

~ by Revé on February 4, 2010.

2 Responses to “advice and warnings”

  1. Hey I just found your blog (somehow) and I just wanted to let you know that I’m currently an English teacher in Chile. What they say about Bridge Linguatec is absolutely true. Don’t work there. You don’t need to go through any agency to get a job teaching English here in Chile. You just need to come with your resume and hit the pavement. It sounds daunting, but if you come in March it shouldn’t be hard at all to find a job. If I could do it, trust me, you can too! 🙂 If you have any other specific questions, feel free to e-mail me: akhall2 @ gmail . com.

    • Hi Abby, thanks for your comment!

      I have some questions- I’ll start out with my main concern about going to Chile without having a job first: How does that work in terms of your visa, contract, whathaveyou? How do you get a working visa while in Chile? Does it take a long time to find a job- will I have to live in an hotel until I find one, and *then* get an apartment?

Leave a Reply

 
