el estímulo

I received an email from Teacher Mex Connect yesterday (I sent them a couple of résumés to look over) which said, among other things:

Your credentials you mentioned are more than sufficient and I am quite certain we can place you in Chile.

Encouraging 🙂

Anyway, I submitted my résumé to them and decided to have my 3 countries be Chile, Argentina, and Uruguay. I decided to drop Brazil because, while it’d be cool to eventually work there, I know I’d be *really* disappointed if I had to learn Portuguese before Spanish. Plus Wikipedia had this to say about Uruguay:

Uruguay is rated as the least corrupt country in Latin America (along with Chile), with its political and labor conditions being among the freest on the continent.

Uruguay is one of the most economically developed countries in South America, with a high GDP per capita and the 47th highest quality of life in the world..

…which is basically what I’m looking for in a Latin American country. Plus the jobs listed are in Montevideo, the capital and its main metropolitan area.

I adjusted my résumé and cover letter for Bridge Linguatec, to make it more businessy, and my cover letter more “brief.” Also, this is the first time I’ve applied for an EFL job with a specific company, so I needed to personalize the letter. At this very moment, I’m waiting for all my documents- résumé, cover letter, copy of passport, copy of university degree, copies of transcripts, and a copy of TESOL certificate to load in my email so I can send.

Now the waiting truly begins.

~ by Revé on February 3, 2010.

4 Responses to “el estímulo”

  1. I was going to mention in the other reply that I really liked visiting Uruguay while I was down there. I only went twice but I enjoyed both times. It has more of a “Latin American” feel (if you can say that) than the more European Buenos Aires as well as a more noticable poc population which was interesting.

    • That’s good to hear. I don’t know much about Uruguay other than the bit I’ve read on the internet, but it definitely seems like a good place to go.

    • The other post wouldn’t let me reply directly to your comment. I wanted to ask, what aspects of Argentina were the most challenging to get used to, culturally?

      • Hi sorry I’m just getting back to you.
        Well the host family really put a damper on things for awhile. In the past families had been helpful and supportive, this one was not around much and were rude when they were around.
        You’ll probably hear some people say that the Portenos are really friendly/nice. I didn’t really have that same feeling but that’s not to say they were not polite or courteous.
        I also had to get used to the eating/going out schedule: a small breakfast, dinner after 9 or 10 going out around 12 but usually later.
        My biggest issue was with appearance/race. I had some instances where I’m pretty sure had I looked differently things would have turned out differently. I’d rather not go into specifics here but let me know if you want to know more.

Leave a Reply

 
