los próximos pasos

I feel like I should take things into my own hands. After all, while it may be Alison’s job to place people, no one cares more about my success in finding an EFL job than I do.

I took a trip to Dave’s ESL Cafe. In addition to posting my résumé on the “Job Wanted” board (I hope they’ll tell me if it’s approved), I exhausted the “International Job Board” to find Chilean jobs. I knew I was going to find an abundance of jobs in Asia (even though the jobs in China and Korea have their own separate boards), and probably very few from Latin America, much less Chile. Only 2 of the 4 or so posts in Chile didn’t require previous EFL experience.

One is with Teacher Mex Connect. It’s a recruiting service, with a fee, but I think it’s a fair fee (Once I saw a program that had a fee of over $1000, so $39.99 is doable). It’s custom in Latin America that schools prefer to hire their teachers once they’re in the country, and like I mentioned before, I’m not that adventurous. These people take care of that for me. *Supposedly* 80% of their applicants find a job, assuming that they apply to 3 countries, so I plan on picking Chile, Argentina…and I guess Brazil.

The other is with the Bridge Linguatec Language Institute. With this job, I’d be teaching English to executives who live in Santiago. Contracts last for a minimum of 6 months.

They offer the following:

– Communicative approach training
– Contract with a minimum of hours guaranteed
– Assistance in obtaining a full residence visa
– Travel stipend for classes taught outside of the institute
– A 30 hour free Spanish course lasting 2 weeks * (US$550 value)
– Reimbursement of Emergency Travel Insurance; upon successful completion of contract agreement **
– Reimbursement of airport pick up (TransVip shuttle bus service) ***
– Welcome orientation
– With full availability, applicants can expect to work approx. 60-80 hours per month.

Not bad.

I’m not sure how confident I feel about all of this, but at least I know I’m doing all I can.

~ by Revé on February 2, 2010.

2 Responses to “los próximos pasos”

  1. I would choose Bridge Linguatec. They are well-known and seem to be offering a great deal more. I’m sorry this isn’t working out as well for you!!

    I hope that you can find something. Also, it may seem scary, but I guarantee there is work, especially in Santiago, especially in March, because that is when everyone is getting back from summer vacation.

    • The only thing that gets me a little nervous about Bridge Linguatec is I’d be teaching executives, and I don’t know anything about Business English. But really, that’s my only reservation, so I’m going to go for it.

      As far as the application process is concerned, they asked for a “brief” cover letter, and it’s hard to me to be concise when I’m trying to sell myself lol. With my current cover letter, I can take out the stuff about working with kids, and should probably expand on the fact that I used to work for an advertising agency, but I do worry a little that they won’t want to read my overly ambitious letter.

Leave a Reply

 
