la comprensión verdadera

I can’t wait until I’m really good at Spanish. Not just the language aspect, but the culture as well, things that are commonplace in the Spanish-speaking world.

For example-

I really like this song. My family’s been asking me what am I’m listening to because I play it all the time.

The chorus had some phrases that I was unsure of:

Te envío poemas de mi puño y letra
Te envío canciones de 4.40
Te envío las fotos cenando en Marbella
y cuando estuvimos por Venezuela

I found a site with the translation of the song. I knew what the chorus meant already, at least literally, but not the significance, or the idiomatic expressions, which are as follows:

(1) de mi puño y letra: literally means “from my fist and writing”. Fig. written by my hand, by me.
(2) 4.40 is Juan Luis Guerra’s band
(3) Marbella is a summer village in Malaga, South Spain. Is famous because wealthy people and the “Jet set” go there.

I find this stuff interesting. I don’t think you can really learn a language separate from its culture. Not if you intend to actually communicate. Like 4.40…I had NO idea what that was supposed to mean. Is that how long the songs are supposed to be? Lol. And I knew “de mi puño y letra” was an idiomatic expression, but not exactly what it meant. And I didn’t know that Marbella had any significance other than it rhymes with Venezuela, and compliments letra and cuarenta.

Classes start Wednesday.

~ by Revé on January 4, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
